Culture | , | November 19, 2018


NBD, the announcement we’ve all been waiting for and speculating over has finally been made, we’re fine.




In light of 10 years of film-making, Marvel Studios is releasing their book Marvel: The First Ten Yearswhich happens to hold the official timeline of when each Marvel Cinematic Universe movie took place. The list begins with Captain America, The First Avenger, as most expected, and ends with Black Panther, Thor Ragnarok and Avengers: Infinity War. 


According to ScreenRantthis is the full timeline:


1943 – 1945: Captain America: The First Avenger

2010: Iron Man

2011: Iron Man 2, The Incredible Hulk, Thor

2012: The Avengers, Iron Man 3

2013: Thor: The Dark World

2014: Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Guardians of the Galaxy, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2

2015: Avengers: Age of Ultron, Ant-Man

2016: Captain America: Civil War, Spider-Man Homecoming

2016 – 2017: Doctor Strange

2017: Black Panther, Thor Ragnorok, Avengers: Infinity War


Clearly missing from the timeline is Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., Ant-Man and the Wasp and Captain Marvel. Although we can pretty much piece them in, with Ant-Man and the Wasp presumably taking place in 2017 and Captain Marvel set in 1995.


The date surrounding Spider-Man: Homecoming is also controversial, as the timeline states it’s set in 2016, but the film dropped hints that it was set 8 years after the first Avengers movie, which would make it set in 2020. Although, then Homecoming wouldn’t fit in with Infinity War which is set in 2017.


Has the official timeline finally dropped? Yeah. Are we still confused? Yeah.



 At least we’ve got all the info we need about the new Game Of Thrones prequel; finally, a universe we can understand. 


Cover image via Marvel Studios.